#DragWednesday: Sleek Foundation Review

wp-1472066529984.jpg

Well, this week, this basic bitch has gone a little basic with her drag look. For no other reason than time constraints. Bizarrely, my day time make-up was more interesting than my drag look…

14137904_10204885582859100_1107568090_n

So while I was sitting contouring, I decided that I wanted to do a review on a foundation I’ve had in my kit for a while but not actually reviewed. A friend gave it to me and I kept the two shades (Barley and Coffee Bean) in my kit as my skin tone is quite pale. *BUT* it caught my eye while I was looking for my contour palette one day and I decided to try it out for my contour. I like quite a dark contour so Coffee Bean was perfect.

The foundation is Sleek’s Creme to Powder foundation. It’s £7.99 for a 9g compact and considering MAC’s Studio Tech foundation (another creme to powder type foundation) is £26 for 10g, it’s a total steal. The foundation comes in 30 shades which is fantastic considering a lot of high street make-up brands don’t really cater to darker skin tones. So there’s plenty of choice for make-up artists building a kit who don’t want to be constantly mixing shades and for darker complexions where a lot of high street brands only really cater to fairer to medium skin tones. The compact has a generous sized mirror in the compact and I use it regularly to do my full face as my eyesight is tragic so I can’t sit at a vanity mirror without my face being a centimetre away from the glass.

The foundation boasts a medium to full buildable coverage with a flawless finish, which sets to a powdery finish. There’s no suggestion for length of wear or anything like that on their site so I can’t do a time comparison I’m afraid. The formula is thick and creamy but doesn’t feel heavy or cakey on your face, considering the texture of the foundation. Right off the bat with one coat of foundation, the coverage is brilliant. I didn’t feel the need to apply any more foundation over the top of it and I’m a full coverage kinda gal myself. 

I only ever use this foundation for contouring as I haven’t actually been to Superdrug to pick up my own shade in the foundation but I tried out one of the lighter shades (Barley) all over my face and wore it around the house to see how it held up. It lasted the whole day. By whole day, I mean I had it on for 10 hours before washing it off. It held up all day and I didn’t have to touch up at any point.

Application wise, it comes with a sponge applicator, not dissimilar to a powder puff but more rubbery. Personally, I didn’t use it as it didn’t seem to apply the foundation to it’s full potential. I apply my contour with a flat foundation brush to get a sharp line and then blend it upwards with a RT face brush. When I applied it all over my face, I just went in with the face brush after priming with Freedom’s priming water. 

14111816_10204885585499166_1588788028_n
This was after setting with powder.

My only issue with the product is it doesn’t actually set to a powdery finish. Which brings up a dilemma. How exactly do I rate it? As a cream foundation, I would say a definite 10/10 but as it’s supposed to be a cream to powder, it knocks it down to a 4/10 as it doesn’t do exactly what it says on the tin. 

Don’t let this put you off trying the foundation though (unless a definite powder finish is what you’re looking for) because it’s a wonderful foundation even if you do have to go through the extra few seconds it takes to set with powder. It gave a flawless finish, blends like a dream and doesn’t weigh your face down. I wore it on a considerably warm day, although I live in Scotland so my idea of warm might not align with everyone else’s idea of warm, and it didn’t sweat off like some foundations have done in the past.

Bottom line: try this foundation. It’s totally worth it.

14102721_10204883443325613_4762136591387994906_n

Next time we’ll have a review of the newest addition to my kit. The Morphe Master Studio Pro Brush 30pc Set. I am ITCHING to try out these bad boys!!

Until next time, don’t forget to slay all day, every day!!

x Marianne x

#DragWednesday: Sleek Foundation Review

Leave a Reply

